Fallback Image
Fallback Image

Digitalisiation of Trust

IOTA

IOTA: A distributed ledger technology with an enormous potential. This Berlin-based open source technology paves the way for future projects – and not just in the Internet of Things.

A Taste of the Future: Distributed Ledger Technologies

These days, anyone doing business has to inevitably put trust in an institution or an individual. In the future, the process of building trust will also take place digitally – mathematically calculated and reproducible as required. This requires comprehensive systems that generate trust through transparency as well as data immutability: distributed ledger technologies (DLT).

 

IOTA Offers High Scalability

DLTs are networks which are managed in a decentralised way. One of the most promising is IOTA. It is the open source technology that is being developed by the Berlin-based IOTA Foundation.

IOTA is way ahead of classic DLTs – such as the Blockchain – as it expands the possible scenarios in which it can be used many times over. The so-called Tangle, which is the network on which IOTA is based, is designed in such a way that its performance grows with the number of its users: exactly the other way around than in the Blockchain. This diagram shows IOTA’s efficiency in contrast to the Blockchain:

 

Transaktionen: IOTA vs. Blockchain

© byte5

Transaktionen: IOTA vs. Blockchain

Tamper-Proof, Lightweight – and Free of Charge

The Tangle is a complex structure consisting of nodes referencing each other. All data contained therein is cryptographically secured, stored unchangeably and is thus protected against manipulation.

For IOTA, one main area of application is the IOT (Internet of Things) or the IIOT (Industrial Internet of Things). This open-source technology can be used in all places where machines and devices communicate with one another. IOTA is so lightweight that even low-performance hardware can handle transactions without any problems. Additionally, not even a large number of microtransactions puts a strain on the system in its entirety.

 

IOTA-Signet

© IOTA Foundation

IOTA-Signet

What is more, IOTA is also completely free of charge. There are no transaction fees or other costs. This feature makes for a stark contrast to other DLTs, where fees have to be paid for every transaction regardless of their respective value. This property makes IOTA ideal for microtransactions, for instance in the world of IOT or IIOT.

 

Trailblazer for New Business Models

With the absence of transaction fees, IOTA makes certain use cases possible at all: The Tangle can not only be used for transmission of values, but also for manipulation-proof, high-availability data provision. IOTA thus opens up a multitude of new possibilities for the implementation of new projects in the digital transformation of progressive companies.

 


Your partner

Fallback Image

CEO & Founder

Christian Wendler

Christian has been an entrepreneur since 1996 – he has never done anything different and will probably never do so. He founded byte5 in May 2004 as a one-man project. Over 15 years later, the company has multiplied its staff and has long achieved expert status in its niche. Christian is intrinsically motivated to make byte5 even more flexible and family-friendly with innovative measures.

Get ready for the future with IOTA!

byte5 is at your side for the realization of your DLT project.

Get in touch with our experts!

astronomischer Nebel

IOTA: Digitalisierung von Vertrauen

Das disruptive Potential der Distributed-Ledger-Technologie IOTA ist immens. Die Berliner Open-Source-Technologie ebnet den Weg für Zukunftsprojekte – nicht nur im Internet-of-Things.

Das ist die Zukunft: Distributed-Ledger-Technologien

Wer heutzutage ein Geschäft tätigt, muss zwangsläufig einer Institution oder Einzelperson vertrauen. Zukünftig wird der Prozess der Vertrauensbildung digital stattfinden – mathematisch berechnet und beliebig reproduzierbar. Hierfür braucht es lückenlose Systeme, die Vertrauen durch Transparenz, Ausfall- und Manipulationssicherheit erzeugen: Distributed-Ledger-Technologien (DLT).

IOTA überzeugt mit hoher Skalierbarkeit

DLTs sind dezentral verwaltete Netzwerke in Form eines verteilten Kontenbuchs. Eins der vielversprechendsten: IOTA. Die Open-Source-Technologie wird von der in Berlin ansässigen IOTA Foundation entwickelt.

IOTA ist klassischen DLTs wie der Blockchain weit voraus, weil sie die Einsatzmöglichkeiten um ein Vielfaches erweitert. Der Tangle, das IOTA zugrunde liegende Netzwerk, ist so gestaltet, dass die Leistungsfähigkeit mit der Zahl der Nutzenden wächst – genau andersherum als in der Blockchain. Die Grafik zeigt IOTAs Effizienz gegenüber der Blockchain:

© byte5

Manipulationssicher, leichtgewichtig – und kostenfrei

Der Tangle ist ein komplexes Gewebe aus sich gegenseitig referenzierenden Knotenpunkten. Alle darin befindlichen Daten werden kryptografisch gesichert, unveränderlich gespeichert und sind somit geschützt vor Manipulationen.

Ein Haupteinsatzort für IOTA ist das IOT (Internet-of-Things) bzw. das IIOT (Industrial-Internet-of-Things). Die Berliner Technologie kommt überall dort zum Einsatz, wo Maschinen und Geräte miteinander kommunizieren. IOTA ist dabei so leichtgewichtig, dass auch leistungsschwächere Hardware die Transaktionen problemlos stemmen kann. Zusätzlich stellt selbst eine große Masse an Microtransactions keine Belastung für das Gesamtsystem dar.

IOTA ist zudem komplett kostenfrei. Weder Transaktionsgebühren noch andere Kosten fallen an. Damit steht IOTA im starken Kontrast zu anderen DLTs, bei denen für jede Transaktion unabhängig von ihrem Wert eine Gebühr gezahlt werden muss. Diese Eigenschaft macht IOTA ideal für Microtransactions, beispielweise in der Welt des IOT bzw. IIOT.

Wegbereiter für neue Geschäftsmodelle

Durch die Abwesenheit von Transaktionsgebühren macht IOTA bestimmte Anwendungsfälle überhaupt erst möglich: Der Tangle kann nicht bloß zur Wertübermittlung genutzt werden, sondern auch zur fälschungssicheren, hochverfügbaren Datenbereitstellung. Damit eröffnet IOTA progressiven Unternehmen eine Vielzahl neuer Möglichkeiten für die Gestaltung und Umsetzung neuer Projekte im Rahmen der digitalen Transformation.

Get ready for the future – with IOTA and byte5

The huge number of diverse application purposes makes IOTA interesting for every company that seriously wants to face the challenges of digital transformation. We are at your side when you realise your first IOTA project.

Get in touch with our experts!